Convert your FHIR JSON -> XML and back here. The CDA Book is sometimes listed for Kindle here and it is also SHIPPING from Amazon! See here for Errata.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

HL7 Offers Free Ambassador Webinar on Standards for Interoperability Tuesday, December 11

Health Level Seven® International
For Immediate Release
Contact: Andrea Ribick
+1 (734) 677-7777

HL7 Offers Free Ambassador Webinar on Standards for Interoperability Next Tuesday, December 11

          Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA – December 6, 2012 – Health Level Seven® International (HL7®), the global authority for interoperability and standards in healthcare information technology with members in 55 countries, will present a complimentary Ambassador webinar on current standards used for interoperability next Tuesday, December 11, from 11:00 am - 12:00 pm EST.
          This webinar provides an introduction to current interoperability standards. The focus is on the principles of interoperability, exploring why standards are vital, why interoperability is difficult and why models are key to making it simpler. Historically standards have focused on either syntax (interchange formats) or semantics (terminology), but both are always needed. HL7 Version 2, Version 3 and CDA® focus on syntax, while ICD, LOINC and SNOMED CT® focus on semantics.
         The webinar will be presented by Tim Benson of Abies Ltd and author of Principles of health interoperability, HL7 and SNOMED, 2nd Edition Springer 2012. He is trained as a mechanical engineer and has spent his career in health informatics. Benson founded one of the first GP computer suppliers, which developed the Read codes that evolved to become one of the two sources of SNOMED CT. He also led the first European project team to assess the need for open standards in health informatics and has worked with HL7 for over 20 years.  
          This webinar is free and open to anyone interested in healthcare IT or standards development. To register for this free webinar, please visit
HL7 Ambassadors present standardized presentations about HL7 as speaker volunteers. They are available to present at local, regional or national conferences. Please contact HL7 at +1 (734) 677-7777 if you would like to schedule an HL7 Ambassador for an upcoming event.

About Health Level Seven International (HL7)
Founded in 1987, Health Level Seven International is the global authority for healthcare information interoperability and standards with affiliates established in more than 30 countries. HL7 is a non-profit, ANSI accredited standards development organization dedicated to providing a comprehensive framework and related standards for the exchange, integration, sharing, and retrieval of electronic health information that supports clinical practice and the management, delivery and evaluation of health services. HL7’s more than 2,300 members represent approximately 500 corporate members, which include more than 90 percent of the information systems vendors serving healthcare. HL7 collaborates with other standards developers and provider, payer, philanthropic and government agencies at the highest levels to ensure the development of comprehensive and reliable standards and successful interoperability efforts.
          HL7’s endeavors are sponsored, in part, by the support of its benefactors: Abbott; Accenture; Allscripts; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Duke Translational Medicine Institute; Epic; the Food and Drug Administration; GE Healthcare Information Technologies; GlaxoSmithKline; Hospital Corporation American (HCA); IBM; Intel Corporation; InterSystems Corporation; Kaiser Permanente; McKesson Provider Technology; Microsoft Corporation; NICTIZ National Healthcare; Novartis; Oracle Corporation; Partners HealthCare System, Inc.; Pfizer, Inc.; Philips Healthcare; Quest Diagnostics Inc.; Siemens Healthcare; the U.S. Department of Defense, Military Health System; and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
          Numerous HL7 Affiliates have been established around the globe including Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, and Uruguay.

For more information, please visit:


Post a Comment